FREE DELIVERY for orders over £35

What E Numbers are not Vegan?


Alongside the many benefits of switching to a vegan diet, an additional positive side effect is the increased speed at which one can scan through ingredients lists. However, no matter how fast and how familiar you are with scanning ingredients, E numbers aren't quite as obvious.  

What are E numbers?

E numbers are codes used to describe food additives for use within the European Union. These additives are used to enhance food flavour, colour or texture or as preservatives. Some E numbers like E441 (gelatine) are derived from animals. To make sure that all your favourite vegan sweets are free from animal derived E numbers we check every new shipment and our suppliers for any ingredient changes in the sweets we stock.

The E Number Blacklist For Vegans

E Number Description Type Details
120 

Carmine/ Carminic acid/ Cochineal

Colour Harvested from the cochineal bug  
441

Gelatine

Emulsifier Comes from the collagen inside animal bones (pigs and cattle)
542 Bone phosphate Anti-caking agent Crushed animal bones
901

Beeswax

Glazing Agent Obtained from bees
904

Shellac

Glazing Agent Insect feces
913

Lanolin

Glazing Agent Sheep grease
920

L-cysteine

Glazing Agent Derived from feathers
966

Lactitol

Sweetener Sugar alcohol derived from milk
1105

Lysosyme

Preservative Obtained from chicken eggs